69% of Americans get their news from a smart phone (including me!)

69% of Americans get their news from a smart phone (including me!)

Going digital and getting social

What is the first thing I do when I wake up? Check my Facebook and Twitter feed for the most recent news. With a simple tap on my iPhone screen, I have hundreds of news outlets at my fingertips.

News distribution has drastically changed with advancements in technology, and the invention of social media. The HP New Media exhibit in the Newseum, located in Washington, D.C., showcases social media’s prominence in our daily lives.

Welcome sign to HP New Media Gallery (Everything was digital, and most screens were interactive too!)

Welcome sign to HP New Media Gallery (Everything was digital, and most screens were interactive too!)

The New Media exhibit interacts with museumgoers, allowing visitors to check-in and upload a photo of themselves to the New Media screen, play a hands free game about recent trends in digital media and role-play as copy editor by formatting headlines for the front page news. However, I was most fascinated by the Newseum’s real-time Twitter feed on display in the middle of the exhibit. I was able to see all trending topics and mentions made at the Newseum as they occurred.

The New Media exhibit demonstrates that digital and social media are the future for journalism.

My Future

As a little girl, I was obsessed with popular culture, Hollywood and celebrities, and dreamed to work for E! Entertainment News. I left the New Media gallery feeling inspired, and knew I wanted to work with social and

This image appeared inside the exhibit

This image appeared inside the exhibit

digital media in my future. Today, my ultimate dream job would be the Social Media Correspondent for E! News.

As Social Media Correspondent for E!, I would manage their social media pages such as Twitter and Facebook. Because social media allows news to be two-way and interactive, I would aim to interact with

I dream to work at E!

I dream to work at E!

celebrities via Twitter and friends and followers on behalf of E! to grow and promote their company.

This dream job combines my passion for entertainment news, interacting with others and using social media. Digital and social media are the future for journalism, and I am the future Social Media Correspondent at E!

 

 

Social media breaks news to the public

Social media breaks news to the public

View of the Capitol from the Newseum with Caroline Niski (left)

View of the Capitol from the Newseum with Caroline Niski (left)

 

